Late Night Adventure

I read the message on my phone. It was from my friend who was in town. He visits pretty often because his girl friend lives here.

“Yo, what are you doing?” It said.

I texted back: “It’s 1am, what do you think I’m doing?” (He would know that I would be planning to wind down my night in the next hour)

A few minutes later, another buzz.

“Want to go play some poker?”

“Not really, but I’m kinda hungry… but it’s kinda late…” I was actually just doing some work on my computer. It wasn’t like I was in bed.

It went silent for a while.

“Okay, let’s go eat. Be ready in 10.”

He didn’t even ask. He knew I would turn down a late night adventure based on how I responded.

I guess that’s a friend who knows me.

– C

Share your story

