Expecting Nothing

Several days ago, I sent a message to someone who had fallen out of favour with me.

We weren’t close friends by any means. In fact, we knew each other through WordPress (a local blogger actually) but conversed through various means. She felt weirded out by things I said and wanted us to stop talking. I use odd comments and sarcasm a lot, so people who don’t know me well may find it weird I suppose. But either way I didn’t blink too much at it. I gave a short reply and we stopped talking.

So why did I send the message? Well the person came to my mind while I was editing my blog. I thought it would be nice to say hi and wish her well. Not much to it. I’ve tried to learn not to expect anything in return; that you should go move on from past incidences and look ahead. The past should not hold us back from the future right?

Expecting nothing can give you nice surprises

Expecting nothing can give you nice surprises

I don’t think she will reply. But I think that says more about her. I’m OK with that.

– C

Share your story

