Let’s be Friends Again

 

She saw me on Facebook. It has been a long time since we talked but apparently she thought it would be a good idea to take another stab at a friendship.

I have never understood this girl. Not only is her general persona a bit of a mystery, her stories didn’t really make sense when we went through our short dating stint. I have never been able to get a straight answer. And while I was over it, I was somewhat skeptical of her now.

To some degree, I understand why she wanted to be friends again. She was the type that didn’t like ill feelings to linger.

On the other hand, I didn’t see the point. She was flakey and she didn’t seem genuine at times. She said she wanted to be friends but her actions seemed more indifferent than anything else.

But she hit the add button and a friend request popped up on my Facebook. I debated accepting and decided to accept.

We exchanged a few messages and it seemed she was still as flakey with responses as she was years ago. What a waste of my time. I’ve always thought that fundamentally, people rarely change their core characteristics once they are established. It takes a very concerted effort.

What’s the point of trying to be friends when you barely want to put effort in? What do you think?

– C

9 thoughts on “Let’s be Friends Again

  1. Friends and effort… I think like any relationship it should be natural and flow. Maybe we expect too much from people and should just accept them for what they are and try to make it unconditional. I feel the same way (that you have expressed) but can you compare genuine friendship with any Facebook interactions (I would say “no”). She probably needs you (on her Facebook friends count) than you need her. What a compliment 🙂

    • I won’t get into the whole story but when she said she wanted to be friends, she gave me this spiel about how “she’ll always care and wnat to be friends”. I’m like uh… I don’t believe you lol. We really didn’t date for long…

      • You always know in your “heart” when people are genuine… and actions always speak louder than words. 😀 Good for you!!!!

  2. Don’t bother adding her on Facebook. It sounds like she’ll just add more headache, if anything. Plus, you seem to be doing just great without her :).

    – K.

Share your story

