Training Day (Not like the movie)

I invited my friend to go training with me since it was the weekend and he likes to do a weekly workout. I was (and still am) training for Tough Mudder (quite possibly the toughest event on the planet – well that’s what they say) so I have had to pick up running on a weekly basis. I did my first run about 1.5 weeks before and was able to complete 5km in 30 mins. I didn’t think it was too shabby for someone who hates running and also sucks at it (my form is terrible). After a few runs, I’ve also been thinking of doing the Earth Run (10km) as a tune-up for TM. Oh how my ex-girlfriend would rue the day if she knew I was running regularly. She was a runner and often wanted me to run with her at the time. And now I was thinking of signing up for event runs. But.. I digress.

I had a specific routine planned out. I would do the following 3 times over: 2km run followed by a round of push ups (3 variations at max reps). This would total 6km run and 9 sets of push ups. After that, I would head back home to do pull-ups at the playground. We were training at the Minoru track and they don’t have bars for pull-ups. The main purpose of this training was to get my body used to running then physical exertion. I planned to work up my endurance as TM is 10-12 miles. This friend of mine is sort of a know-it-all. Sometimes I swear he’s bs’ing me but I won’t know enough on the topic to call him on it. He wanted to train a specific way and I wanted to do it my way (after all this was MY training). He kept telling me that he just wants to blast it and “empty the tank”. I told him, “good for him, then you can do that”. He starts giving me the attitude that I wasn’t going to work out hard enough. I told him, if he wanted to work hard, maybe he should sign up for TM. Of course he goes into the reasons why he can’t do it. Being the good friend I am, I looked at him and said, “Alright then, how about you STFU!?”

Well, end of discussion. Don’t talk about how I don’t work out hard when I play hockey once/twice a week, do P90X twice a week, do Insanity once/twice a week, do a modified workout once a week and dedicate a training day to running/TM. And… he works out once a week. /endrant

We worked our way through the routine that I designed and I was pooped by the last run. I banged out the last round of push ups while my friend could barely hold himself up. That felt good. He has always been stronger than me but with all my workouts, I think I might have some better strength and endurance than him for once. While he was annoying me earlier, having someone to train with does push you further. Or maybe him annoying me pushed me further. Either way, I suppose it works.

Two days later, he messaged me and told me he was very sore from the workout. I was in pretty good shape but I had some soreness in my old hip flexor injury. Mind you I also did P90X the day after. He had only done the one workout and he was so sore that he had trouble putting his shirt on. And he said my workout was “light“.

Credit: maximumtrainingsolutions.com
I’ve always wanted to try using one of these for hockey training

With less than 30 days to go till the big event, I’m most nervous about the end where you have to get through the electric shocks. I don’t plan on training for that by shocking myself. I’m just hoping I can turn myself into an (asian) gazelle by then and blitz through that without blacking out.

16 thoughts on “Training Day (Not like the movie)

  1. Wow, your workout sounds intense (but then again, I’m not one to have a big workout session)! It’s only a few months ago that I started working out and hitting the Oval but even then, it’s just jogs, biking, treadmills. Good luck on your big event! πŸ˜€

  2. Hah…well that’s where you have been!!! Not attending to your blog at all!!! The training you are doing sounds more than ample – when is this event??? I have friends doing one in September (Sydney AUS) – they asked me to do it and I laughed and said it is not very feminine (they said other females are doing it – more power to them??a)

    The electric shock will be at the end and you will be pumped up full of adrenaline so you probably won’t feel a thing (no promises though). LOL GOOD LUCK – WANT to hear all about it… (and pics or video) Heehee πŸ˜€

    • Oh yeah, it’s in 3.5 weeks from now. Fast approaching! I gotta get up to 10km and 12 rounds of pushups/pull ups next week.

      • Look forward to hearing all about it… don’t forget stretching sessions (as part of your training) and energy gels/drinks etc during the event will assist!!!! blahblahblahhhhhh GOOD LUCK πŸ˜€

      • There’s this stuff that my supplement store gave me as samples it says… it will give me “110% more power, 82% more focus, 39% more reps” ROFL

      • WHoA… you will whip their arses!!! πŸ˜€ GOOD LUCK and have loads of fun. πŸ˜€

    • thanks for the visit! I’ll let you know how it goes. What’s your team name? There are some HILARIOUS ones. “I hope I don’t die today” hahahah one of my favs

  3. I’m sure that you’ll do great!! πŸ™‚ Just reading this made me tired haha.

    I’ve been in deciding if I want to to a half marathon in september…I’m not sure I have the time to train for it right now. A co worker of mine did the tough mudder and said it’s really just about short burst of energy, as you can just walk (if you wanted) from obstacle to obstacle. He’s a hockey player too and said that hockey training was perfect for it!

Share your story

