Ever been Spirited Away?

Many years ago, I watched a movie called Spirited Away. I knew it was written and directed by the infamous Hayao Miyazaki; The same director that gave us Princess Mononoke My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service and so many other animated classics. There were a few of us watching the movie that night and none of us knew what to expect.

As I started to watch it, I was blown away. The movie did something that no other movie has ever done for me. It takes you into its world and does let you go until the very end. I won’t go into the plot but a lot of it didn’t make sense, but it worked perfectly in its world. It is beautiful and yes I would even call it a masterpiece (many others have said the same).  Since then, I’ve watched it a few more times and I have noticed many subtleties that I did not notice the first time around; The true mark of a great movie.

The first time around, I was thinking what everybody else on the couch was thinking: this is one of the craziest movies I have ever seen. The next few times I was able to appreciate all the themes conveyed through Miyazaki’s beautiful storytelling. The themes of greed, love, friendship, self transformation are powerful and beautiful.

At the end of the movie, I felt like a lot of time had passed (as it does in the movie) and that I had been on the journey myself.

To this date, I still don’t think any other movie has done that.

Have you ever had a movie experience like that? Which movie was it?

Credit: Studio Ghibli

5 thoughts on “Ever been Spirited Away?

  1. I loved this movie! First time I watched it, I was much younger so I was mostly just confused. When I rewatched it when I grew up, I realize what it was about. I totally agree…this is a masterpiece.
    Hayao Miyazaki has a new film coming out! Well, it’s been out in Japan for a while, but new to us on this side of the world anyway. “The Secret World of Arrietty”– Seems cute 🙂

Share your story

