Airplanes

On a night where my plans got cancelled at the last moment, I decided to do something random: I went to watch airplanes land at YVR.

I have done it before, though I wasn’t really paying attention the first time. This time however, I found it oddly peaceful and beautiful. You could watch the planes close in on the runway and screech to a stop. You could hear the rumble and powering up of the engines as planes take off. Something I wouldn’t expect myself to really appreciate, but I did.

Random and spontaneous. Something I wish I had more of in my life. Most of the people around me seem to enjoy routine and planning. In fact, I believe it’s been like that for most of my life. It wasn’t until the beginning of university that someone left a permanent mark on me to stop planning everything. As close friends have moved away and gone down different paths, this has become more and more difficult. I miss that. As 2011 wraps up, it leads me to one of the biggest questions on my mind: what is left?

When I pulled in, it was very dark and I wasn’t familiar with the area. In fact, I almost drove into a ditch. That would have been quite the story.

Other cars pulled up close by and watched for a while before leaving. Most people didn’t seem to stay long as I saw several cars pull in and out over the course of an hour.

As my eyes adjusted to  the darkness, I could still see decently with the light from the airport. I took out a pad of paper and jotted some notes on 2012 ideas, plans among other things. I brainstormed until I got far too cold in the car.

The end of the year always makes people reflect on the past year and I am no different. People often look at the new year as a fresh start. Whether it’s because of a rough year or they are looking forward to an even better year, optimism is usually at its peak in the days leading up to the new year and the month preceding. By February and March, most people have forgotten their resolutions or goals that they have set and the year has officially “settled in”. If you do set them, remember to review often and stick with it. It’s never easy, but if it’s important enough to you, it is always worth it.

I see lots of logistical changes in 2012 for myself and I expect it to be a big shake up. Kinda symbolic that I reflect on these things with airplanes and the airport around me.

So there you have it…my last post of 2011 … That’s a wrap! Hope everyone has a safe and joyous new year!

Thanks for reading! 🙂 (Especially all the new followers I’ve gained recently!)

4 thoughts on “Airplanes

  1. I enjoy watching planes land and take off too. It’s just so.. I don’t knw but it makes me forget about the world for awhile. :p Hope you stick to your goal for the year, Happy New Year!

Share your story

