A Grinch Moment

It was probably one of the briefest moments of self-realization (if I can even call it that). It is hardly a story yet I find myself writing about it. For as long as I can remember, I have never really wanted children. I have always heard of the reasons why people have children but I have never really understood it.

Recently I was around some kids at a social event. I know the kids reasonably well, though I can’t say our interactions go much further than greeting each other and some short lines of conversation. I was talking to someone else when one of them came up from behind me and hugged me. I don’t know why he hugged me but at that moment I felt like I knew why people have kids. Friends have said I am cold-hearted for not liking kids. It’s not something I choose to feel! At that moment I did feel like the Grinch did in “How the Grinch Stole Christmas”… the part where his heart warms/grows because of what he realizes. This is obviously not that extreme because I don’t believe I am cold-hearted. It really did warm my heart though. Perhaps, others are right…I really will want kids someday.

Share your story

