Failing Forward

I had been kinda waiting for it for a little bit now. These past 2 months have been good to me. Almost too good to me. Everything was moving along and good things were continually happening. On a Thursday evening last week,  something finally went wrong. And when things go wrong, sometimes they go really wrong. This went really wrong. The details of what happened are not important because regardless of what happened, most people can relate to this type of situation.

I had messed up. You could call it a mistake. You could call it failure. Either way,  it was not a good feeling. It would have been easy to point fingers and share the blame with the other parties involved. It would have been easy to blame the “opposition” for causing problems. But I refused to do that. I was mad at others, but I was more mad at myself. I took full responsibility for my failure. This failure will linger in my memory for some time and I will do everything I can to not make the same mistake again. It’s one thing to pay the price the first time, but I refuse to pay the price twice.

I was also given a chance to reflect on failure. We often think of failure as a bad thing, but in recent years, my thinking has dramatically changed. Failure is fundamental to success. It is a chance to improve and to figure out what not to do next time. The pathway to success is through failure and those who fail the most, but never give up, will go the farthest. Everyone can deal with the highs, but it is through the lows that we determine our character.

I am reminded of the Michael Jordan quote which simply reiterates my thoughts.

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.” – Michael Jordan

I will fail often. And I will never give up.

Share your story

