Bittersweet Happyness

I read it once. Then I read it again. I often did that, as if I am not sure if I got it correctly the first time.  It wasn’t mean to be a sad message, but I couldn’t help but be sad. He was getting married.

Respect does not come easily from me, and he was one of the few people who I held in the highest regard. At one time, he was like part of my family, and after he left, things would change that were beyond my control.

The truth is, I considered him like a brother,  someone who I looked up to, and someone I wanted to be. I re-read the one part that put a lump in my throat.

“I sure wish things were just a little bit different and you could’ve been there tomorrow.”

Yeah different… I sure wished the same…

We often wish things were different but there is often little to be done to change the past. We cannot control what happens around us. We cannot take back mistakes. We cannot take back what we said.  We can only move forward.

One thought on “Bittersweet Happyness

  1. Happyness was intentionally spelled this way in reference to “The Pursuit of Happyness”. Excellent movie that I recommend everyone watch.

Share your story

