Confession

They say hindsight is 20/20. Naturally. I spent much of my trip mulling over things that had been on my mind in the last month. As we moved from city to city, I started to figure things out. I really wasn’t sure what I was figuring out, but I eventually figured it out. I came to a conclusion. That conclusion was a confession.

I had lied to myself. I had lied to myself, and I had to admit it to myself now. The truth of the matter was that I had liked her a lot more than I admitted. Not only that, it felt right. But I was afraid. I was afraid of what certain people think. So I played it down. As time passed, I started to feel more comfortable with the idea and I knew that we should have a talk.

I had fallen into the trap. The one that scares me the most. I’m not afraid to jump off the world’s highest bungee. I’m not afraid to jump out of a plane. I’m not afraid to take a stand for what I believe in.

But for a short while, I was reminded of one of my greatest fears; that I can still be afraid of what others think.

Always remember. Feel the fear. Do it anyways.

Share your story

